Eastern District AGM

It was a pleasure to have a district AGM yesterday at Alton Water and have an attendance that went into double figures. We again have a full committee, welcome to Geoff Appleton as new Chairman, Malcolm Button returning as Vice-Chairman, Glenn Meekcoms as new District Councillor and Vinnie Zammit taking over as Racing Secretary from Henry Farley. Vinnie has at last enabled Henry to relax a bit more after all the years of sterling work he has put into the Eastern District.

Brief by Malcolm Schaffer –

There was some clubs who were notable by their absence, but it was good to see representatives from a number of Eastern District Clubs, including:-

Alton Water Radio Sailing Club; Cambridge; Coalhouse Fort; Harwich & Dovercourt; Huntingdon; Lee Valley; Norwich; Southend; Woodbridge.

Minutes of the AGM will be posted later.



Eastern District Facebook Group

The MYA Eastern District has created a closed Facebook group to enable MYA members of the Eastern District to chat and comment on issues within the district.

Please click on the link below to access and request access if you are a member of a MYA Eastern District Club.


There is also an Eastern District Facebook Page which is a public page which can also be accessed.

Eastern District Committee

As we come to the end of the year, we need to start thinking about the Eastern District AGM which will be in early November as usual, venue and agenda to be advise by the end of this month.

However, there is an issue regarding the District Committee that needs to be considered now, so that we do not find ourselves floundering at the AGM.

Currently the Eastern District consists of the following:

Chairman – Vernon Appleton (Coalhouse Fort RYC)

Vice Chairman – Vacant

Secretary – Malcolm Schaffer (Coalhouse Fort RYC)

Senior Measurer/Racing Secretary – Henry Farley (Lee Valley)

District Councillor – Geoff Appleton (Coalhouse Fort)

Web master – John Newton (Coalhouse Fort)

As you can see, not only are the members all based in the south of the district, but four out of the six are based in one club, which can not be regarded as a healthy situation and should not be continued.

It is our understanding that Vernon Appleton and Geoff Appleton intend to stand down at the AGM and as such at least three vacancies will exist. It has also been suggested that perhaps Henry Farley, who has been in position since forever, would like to reduce his workload.

So, this is a plea for members to think about stepping up to the mark, since this is your District and it needs your support. Without people in position, the District, which is currently regarded as one of the better ones in the MYA, will start to suffer and our reputation will be severely diminished.

If you would like to be considered for any of the above positions, please feel free to contact either your Club Secretary or Malcolm Schaffer (malcolm_schaffer@hotmail.com)

Eastern District Marblehead Ranking Event

It is with regret we have to advise that for reasons beyond their control, Chelmsford RYC are unable to host the Eastern District Marblehead Ranking event and Eastern District Championship scheduled for Sunday 8th October 2017.

Attempts have been made to find a suitable alternative in the Eastern District but there is nothing available and so unfortunately we have to advise the MYA Racing Officer that the event can not go ahead.

MYA Newsletter

By clicking on MYA Newsletter you can download the the latest MYA Newsletter.

Could I take this opportunity to ask all members to check their profile in the members area of the MYA web site and check that your email address is correct, since this is now the preferred route to contact individual members. If you know of members who do not access this web site, could I please ask you to request they do the same.

If there are any changes please email membership@mya-uk.org.uk, many thanks.


Henry Johnson Memorial Trophy

On Sunday 11th June 2017, Lee Valley MYC will host the annual Henry Johnson MemorialHenry Johnson Trophy at their Clayton Hill Country Park, Nazeing, EN9 2HX venue.

This event is open to all MYA Members with a certified IOM boat. To enter, please email Henry Farley (henry.farley@ntlworld.com) as soon as possible – please include, Name; Sail No.; MYA No.; Frequency; Hull type and Emergency Contact name and number.

The skippers briefing will be at 09:45am with the first race shortly after. The last race will be decided on the day.

MYA Standard Sailing Instructions (SSI’s) will be used and competitors are reminded they are required to ensure their boat remains in class and that they will be required to sail in accordance with the RYA Racing Charter.